Portugal World Cup Squad: Ronaldo selected to play in Fifth Showpiece

Man Jose Kayima

Portugal manager Fernando Santos has named the 26 man squad that will feature at the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

Manchester United forward Cristiano Ronaldo has been selected to play in the fifth World Cup tournament.

Only four players have previously featured at five World Cups; these are Italy goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon from 1998-2014, Mexico defender Rafael Márquez from 2002-18, Germany midfielder Lothar Matthaeus from 1982-98 and Mexico goalkeeper Antonio Carbajal from 1950-66. Buffon was in the Italy squad in 1998 but didn’t play in the tournament.

The highest scorer in men’s international soccer has never won the sport’s biggest prize, but he will get another chance this year in Qatar.

At the Qatar showpiece, Ronaldo will be looking to become the first player to score at five separate World Cups.

The Portugal skipper will be joined by his Manchester United teammates Bruno Fernandes and Diogo Dalot.

Manchester City trio of Bernado Santos, Ruben Dias and Jao Cancelo make the squad.

Meanwhile Renato Sanchez misses out on the squad named by Santos.

Portugal are in Group H alongside Ghana, Uruguay and South Korea.


Diogo Costa, Rui Patricio, Jose Sa;


Joao Cancelo, Diogo Dalot, Pepe, Ruben Dias, Danilo Pereira, Antonio Silva, Nuno Mendes, Raphael Guerreiro;


William Carvalho, Ruben Neves, Joao Palhinha, Bruno Fernandes, Vitinha, Otavio, Matheus Nunes, Bernardo Silva, Joao Mario


Cristiano Ronaldo, Joao Felix, Rafael Leao, Ricardo Horta, Andre Silva, Goncalo Ramos

Related Posts

1 of 218

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *