Museveni re-appoints Byabakama as Electoral Commission Chairman

Man Jose Kayima

President Museveni has reappointed Justice Simon Byabakama as the chairperson of the Electoral Commission for another term.

In January, 5, 2024 letter to the Speaker of Parliament, the president forwarded Byabakama’s name to the presidential appointment’s committee for vetting

The president also reappointed Hajjati Aisha Lubega as the deputy chairperson and Stephen Tashobya as a commissioner.

According to the letter, the president has appointed four new faces as commissioners to the Electoral Commission, including Makerere University lecturer, Dr.Sallie Simba Kayunga, former Nansana Municipality MP in the ninth and 10th parliaments, Robert Kasule Ssebunya, former Kyoga County MP, Anthony Akol and Pamela Etonu Okudi, the former acting head of administration of the EC.

The names will now present the CVs to parliament for vetting and confirmation

Related Posts

1 of 222

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *